“Plugged In” at the Gym

Good Morning People!

A few days ago, I was working out with one of my friends and they mentioned nonchalantly:

“I can’t workout without my headphones. If I don’t have my headphones, I don’t workout.”

How can tiny little corded ear puds have a huge amount of power over someone?

Personally, I haven’t worked out with headphones or had headphones even placed in my ears since I was a preteen. I enjoy being open to engaging with new people and listening to the world around me. I want to take full credit for an awesome workout; not two lifeless pieces of metal and rubber.earpods_derecho

Many online articles promote that listening to music will boost your inner drive and help distract you from what you’re actually doing. Examples: http://www.independent.co.uk/life-stylehttp://www.weightlossresources.co.uk

If you’re truly engaging and pushing yourself during a workout, wouldn’t you want to be present and in the moment? Or, you see better results when listening to music because studies show it boosts your workout endurance by 15%?

I enjoy not listening to music because I like hearing my different breathing patterns, I can hear my feet smack on the treadmill as they propel me forward and I get the chance to hear other people pushing themselves.

When I asked a few of my friends why they listen to music at the gym, they mentioned:

“Instead of taking a pre-workout I just listen to the Rocky theme song.”

“It helps me relax.”

“I don’t want people to approach me.”

Everyone is different, and everyone is entitled to workout however they’d like. For argument sake, one could re-word:

“I need a push because I lack self motivation.”

“I need to distract my mind by engaging myself with something other than my workout.”

“I don’t want any human interaction while I engage in a group environment.”

Is this also why we have TVs at gym facilities? 

wht3_fitness-tvs.jpg

People signed up to become a Member at a gym. They know other people go to the gym. They want to avoid all human interaction so to “protect” themselves, they put headphones in.

I know I usually will try something out, but listening to music while I workout isn’t something I want to rely on. So my challenge for you, try 2 workouts without listening to music!

Comment below with what you thought!

Have a great day!

Nya

 

 

Leave a Reply

